Voter's Guide

2017 EP County Election Voter's Guide


In order to help inform voters about the upcoming May 2017 election, the Greater El Paso Chamber of Commerce and our coalition partners (Greater El Paso Association of Realtors, Association of Builders, the Better Business Bureau, Progress321, and CommUnity En Accion) created an initiative that would provide important election information to the community. The goal is to increase awareness and knowledge of the candidates through questionnaires and events, which will lead to a more educated electorate.

Candidate Questionnaires

The coalition of organizations developed questionnaires that were sent to each of the candidates running for Mayor and City Council. The questionnaires asked the candidates about their experience and background, their knowledge of the seat in which they are running, and to comment about their qualifications to hold an elected office. Each of the submitted questionnaires have been compiled and published unedited below. Use the tabs on the left side of this page to navigate through each candidate's responses.

Disclaimer: Each of the candidates' responses have been published unedited and appear exactly as represented on their submitted questionnaire. The views, opinions, and statements expressed from each candidate do not reflect the views or beliefs of the members, leadership, or staff of the Greater El Paso Chamber of Commerce or its partners. The publishment of each candidate questionnaire is not, nor constitutes, an endorsement for any particular candidate and any race.

Election Information

 Election Day will be Saturday, May 6, 2017 from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

 Early voting period will be from Monday, April 24, 2017 through Tuesday, May 2, 2017.

Voter Resources

Voter Registration:

Every resident who wishes to vote in the State of Texas must be registered to vote. Voter registrations applications can be filled out at the El Paso County Elections office, or mailed in using the downloadable applicaiton below.

If you are not sure if you are registered to vote, use the link below to search your voter status using yoru name and date of birth.

El Paso County Voter's Website:

Visit for important information about the upcoming election.

El Paso County Elections Office:

Office Address:
El Paso County Elections Department
500 E. San Antonio Ave., Suite #314
El Paso, Texas 79901
Phone: (915) 546-2154     Fax: (915) 546-2220

Office Hours: Monday-Friday (8:00 a.m. to 4:45 p.m.)
Assistant Elections Administrator: Antonio Rivera
Email: [email protected]


City Council Candidates

District 2

Alexsandra Annello

Jim Tolbert

Jud A. Burgess - Did not submit responses

Raul Valdez - Did not submit responses

Dolores Garcia Baca - Did not submit responses

Alexander M. Burnside - Did not submit responses

District 3

Cassandra Hernandez-Brown

Jaime Barceleau

Casey A. Williams

Elias A. Camacho - Did not submit responses

Louis Pellicano - Did not submit responses

District 4

Sam Morgan

Jose Plasencia

Diana Ramos

Shane Haggerty - Did not submit responses

District 7

Henry Rivera

Lilia B. Limon - Did not submit responses

Elizabeth Montelongo - Did not submit responses

Glenn Nathan - Did not submit responses

Gerardo Chacon - Did not submit responses

Mayor of El Paso

Dee Margo

Emma Acosta

David E. Saucedo

William Cager

Jaime O. Perez

Jorge Artalejo - Did not submit responses

Ana Romero Zaidle - Did not submit responses

Charles R. Stapler - Did not submit responses

Jameel D. Toombs - Did not submit responses

David I Aviles-Rodriguez - Did not submit responses

Elisa Morales - Did not submit responses

Jorge Franco - Did not submit responses


Schoolboard Candidate Questionnaire

Ana Duenez, YISD-District 1

Charles N. Taylor, EPISD-District 5

Cruz Ochoa YISD- District 5

Dennis R. Redd, SISD-District 4

Diane M. Dye, EPISD-District 4

Leila Melendez, YISD-District 5

Miguel Payan, YISD-District 5

Paul Guerra, SISD-District 4

Paul W. Pearson, YISD-District 5

Russell L. Wiggs, EPISD-District 4

Timothy W. Groover, EPISD-District 4

Our Sponsors